Providing the Educational Opportunities that Change Lives

College and Alumni Program (CAP)

Melissa Fries

Melissa Fries
Director of College and Alumni Programs


I was born and raised in Southern California (Go Lakers!) and attended UC Santa Barbara where I earned my Bachelor of Arts degree in Black Studies.  Attending graduate school in Ethnic...

Peter MacEwan

Peter MacEwan
Associate Director of College and Alumni Program


My name is Peter MacEwan and I have worked as an educator in the Bay Area since 2001, joining the Making Waves community in 2005 at the San Francisco Education...

May Melehan

May Melehan
Lead College Coach
mmelehan@making-waves.org

I am Ms. Melehan!  I began working at Making Waves Education Program in San Francisco as a tutor in 2003 and continued serving the organization until 2010.  I attended the University of...

Ryan Grady

Ryan Grady
College Coach
rgrady@making-waves.org

I’m Ryan Grady, a College Coach at Making Waves. My career started in 2004 when I graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and was accepted to join Teach for America.  At 22, I...

Kristina Kelly

Kristina Kelly
College Coach
kkelly@making-waves.org

Greetings, Making Waves Community!  I am Kristina Kelly, College Coach in the College and Alumni Program.  Being a Bay Area native, I am rooted in this community and enjoy working with...

Sarah Goudy

Sarah Goudy
College Coach
sgoudy@making-waves.org

I’ve spent my entire professional career in education, guided by a passionate belief that all students deserve access to the transformative power of education. My pathway began while I was a...

Richard Rose

Richard Rose
College Coach
rrose@making-waves.org

Hello Making Waves students!  My name is Richard Rose and I’m a College Coach with the College & Alumni Program.  I’m new to the Bay Area, having moved here with my wife in 2015....

Naomi Lansing

Naomi Lansing
College Coach
nlansing@making-waves.org

My name is Naomi Lansing and I am a College Coach for the College and Alumni Program at Making Waves. My passion for student success began while I was a student at MassBay Community College and...

Courtney Arguello

Courtney Arguello
College Coach
carguello@making-waves.org

My name is Courtney Arguello and I am a College Coach for the College and Alumni Program at Making Waves. I was born and raised in the Bay Area, and after attending two years at the College of...

Ivette Chavez

Ivette Chavez
Lead College Financial Services Coordinator
ichavez@making-waves.org

I was born and raised in East Los Angeles and I am the youngest of nine children. I am a first generation college graduate.  I moved to the Bay Area in 2001 (Go Giants!) to attend college. I...

Ana Calderon

Ana Calderon
College Financial Services Coordinator
acalderon@making-waves.org

I was born in Mexico, and came to the U.S. when I was three years old.  The oldest of five children, I grew up in East Palo Alto, California.  I am a first generation college student who...

Ralph Nubla

Ralph Nubla
College Financial Services Coordinator
rnubla@making-waves.org

I am Ralph Nubla, a College Financial Services Coordinator for Making Waves. I graduated from California State University, Sacramento in the spring of 2010 with a Bachelor of Science degree in...

Aisha Farley

Aisha Farley
Financial Services Coordinator
afarley@making-waves.org

My name is Aisha Farley and I am a College Financial Services Coordinator here at Making Waves! From a young age, the importance of education was instilled in me; I grew up in upstate New York as...